What a former college instructor really thinks…

Who I Am and Why I Blog

I’ve been here a couple of weeks now and have been surprised by the response this blog has received so far.  However, I’ve been even more surprised by how many people have clicked on my “About Me” page.   It has been a lot of people…

And so I have decided to put out something fuller than the non-statement I had on the blog and I hope it will correct some of the misconceptions I’ve run into during my short time here.

The first thing you need to know about me is that I am under 45.  (Therefore: not retired.)  I left teaching mostly because I could not stand inflicting the things I describe on my students.  Let there be no mistake about it: I write about things that are often required of college teachers if they want to keep their jobs.  If you are put off by my regular mocking of students, please remember that I view students’ negative qualities as a direct result of the educational system they have been put through.  I don’t hate them and I don’t blame them, but I worry that they will grow up to do the same things to their children as was done to them.   I feel bad for them and I have come to see the consequences of what is happening to them.

The other detail you didn’t know about me is that I have been looking for a job for a few months now.  The lack of skills among college graduates has appalled me; I wish I could post some of the grammatical atrocities I’ve seen in form letters and official correspondence from businesses.  I’ve also had the opportunity to see that businesses recognize how little many college students are learning in school.  And don’t get me started on the anti-intellectualism and stereotypes that make it nearly impossible for someone with a Ph.D. to find a job.  Eventually, I’ll start posting thoughts on the challenges of looking for a job with a Ph.D. if unemployment lasts much longer.

But I am still thankful not to be teaching.  I enjoyed teaching when the goal was to impart knowledge, but those days are long past.  Although you could get a basic idea of academe’s problems from visiting the Chronicle of Higher Education, I blog here to reach people who would not know to look for this kind of information. As long as it does not last forever, unemployment is a small price to pay for what I was able to escape.   Believe it or not, it’s less stressful.

In closing, please know that I intend to remain anonymous because I don’t want my former educational institution to be singled out unfairly.   (Caveat: If you want to offer me a job, we may be able to work something out.)  I’m not writing about one institution’s problems; I write about what happens at many institutions.  And: I remain anonymous to protect my former students.  I don’t publish anything about any individual student I taught, but quite a few of my former students could look at my blog and think I’m writing specifically about them.  In turn, businesses could look at my blog and say that they won’t hire grads from Dr. Tafisk’s university.

And please tell me that you didn’t really think my name is Lou Tafisk (lutefisk).  Something should have smelled fishy.

 

This post is being copied to my “About Me” page as the official replacement.

2 responses

  1. Very interesting. I wish you the best of luck with finding a job and I love how you gave your honest opinion. I recently launched a website http://www.whyiblog.com where people can post why they blog and give some blogging tips. With your extensive experience and knowledge in writing I would love to hear what you have to say. Keep up the great blogging

    July 7, 2011 at 10:00 am

  2. Thanks!

    July 7, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

