What a former college instructor really thinks…

Inaugural Post: A Public Service Announcement for Bloggers

This blog is designed to put everyone’s stupidity on display, hopefully causing some psychological damage or hurt feelings.  I will not name names; I assume readers can surmise what shortcomings apply to them.  If you would like me to write up a post that takes aim at your blog, please make a public request under one of my posts and I’ll see what I can do to make you a victim.  I always seek to please and I promise to be mediocre at best.

But I assume you did not open this page to hear me blather on about myself.  I’m here to talk about you, my dear reader.  Therefore, I would like to introduce my first public service announcement:

When you’re not really original, you look like an idiot!

As I searched for ideas for something to write about, I took a look at what some other people were offering up.   Not having a lot of time, I only scanned a few things here and there, and I ended up focusing on the titles.  Just a hint for the stupid folks out there: before giving your blog an official name, google the name.  If there are already multiple blogs in the top ten results, your little play on words isn’t that smart.  If Wikipedia has a disambiguation page for the name of your blog, you’re not as creative as you think you are.  Instead of these old and tired names, you would be better off with a blog name like “The Arachnid Penis.”  Besides being truly original, you can scare your friends with your zoological preoccupation and they won’t even be able to comment on how your blog title is meant to compensate for the size of your penis.  How large can arachnid penises be, anyway? 

And some of the posts I read look like the authors are trying to compensate for something.  In schools these days, teachers and professors spend their time telling the kids that they are special and unique.  It saddens me to see the psychological effects of this kind of upbringing.  So many students are led to believe that everything they do is wonderful, a unique contribution to the world.  Guess what: no it isn’t.  Did you know that educators often had to coddle your self-esteem when you didn’t deserve it just to keep their jobs?   And then some of you probably finished school and entered the real world only to find that no one else thought you were as special or smart as your teachers always said you were.  I’ve seen it happen and it can have traumatic effects.

So now I return to the purpose of my blog and the public service announcement.  I want to hurt your feelings.  I want you to know how dumb you are so you can live a happy and productive life.  So thank me.

27 responses

  1. Please feel free to come over and tear it up on my blog, I welcome the pain and suffering you might inflict.

    I just finished reading through everything you’ve posted thus far and have to tell you, I never went to college after I barely managed graduate from high school and yet I understand what you’re saying. A couple of my friends are teachers in the High School arena and have voiced many similar complaints. I’ll be sending them a link to you blog, forthwith.

    July 8, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  2. Thanks a lot. It never makes me happy to hear that others are making similar complaints, but I know that it happens all too regularly.

    July 8, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  3. Pingback: The Arachnid Penis « Necrotic Hijinks

  4. I find value in your whole post however, this part drew my attention: “In schools these days, teachers and professors spend their time telling the kids that they are special and unique. It saddens me to see the psychological effects of this kind of upbringing. So many students are led to believe that everything they do is wonderful, a unique contribution to the world. Guess what: no it isn’t. ”

    I continuously meet these “special snowflakes” online. Every day I silently tell them to get over themselves, and curse the parents and teachers who weren’t capable of telling them the truth: you are as common as grass.

    Special snowflakes can’t comprehend why everything does not go the way they favor. Special snowflakes don’t know how to take responsibility for their own happiness. (Hint: happiness is a decision made between the ears). Special snowflakes blame everyone when things go wrong the way they want. Special snowflakes expect praise when their expectations and actions provoke rejection. Poor little special snowflakes were “snowed” into believing the sun shines from their butts and lights up the whole planet.

    Well, thanks for soapbox. I’m off to boil some water … for tea, of course. 😉

    July 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm

  5. I am visually challenged and that doesn’t make me special. But if you would be kind enough to correct any obvious typos and/or other grammatical and/or missing word errors I made in my first comment that I cannot see I would appreciate it.

    July 13, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  6. Got it.

    And I feel your pain. Teachers are put in the same position as I imagine you are: you have to be nice and encouraging to them because doing otherwise would be bad for business.

    The sad thing is that this is what education schools instruct future teachers to do. Teachers are told that this is professional behavior. And principals don’t want to have to deal with angry parents who want to believe that Junior is the “bestest” honor student the school has ever seen…

    Enjoy your tea. You deserve a break.

    July 13, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  7. Hit me, baby!

    July 14, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    • In the immortal words of Ben Stein, I shall do my best.

      July 14, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      • as the poet said, w00t!

        July 14, 2011 at 11:45 pm

  8. The post about you is next up, Rainy. You get the honor of inspiring the first picture I’ve ever put up on this blog (except for the header and background.)

    July 15, 2011 at 12:21 am

    • One is on pins and needles, one is.

      July 15, 2011 at 1:32 am

  9. Pingback: Church Chat with the Gothic Blog Princess « Necrotic Hijinks

  10. Haha! love it, bring it on 😉

    July 16, 2011 at 4:34 am

    • Okay.

      Be afraid. Be very afraid…

      😉

      July 16, 2011 at 5:14 am

  11. Pingback: How to Talk About Sex Without Being Attacked by Feminists « Necrotic Hijinks

  12. Sticks and stones and all that old bollocks…. 🙂
    …c’mon….do me….give it your best shot….

    🙂

    July 16, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    • Yours looks like it will be fun to do, but it may take me a little while to get something up.

      July 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  13. @ words

    It’s up

    July 17, 2011 at 1:08 am

  14. I’m up for it… It might inspire me to add you into my next little dittie… x

    July 17, 2011 at 3:46 am

  15. Okay, this should be interesting! I’m next in your list.

    July 17, 2011 at 3:55 am

    • There are actually several other people. I switched my theme yesterday and I now have a “victimhood can be yours” tab in my header menu. (You count as being on the list, though.)

      I won’t be going down the list in order. People reach the front of the line when I come up with something to write about them. I should add some details to that.

      July 17, 2011 at 11:58 am

  16. Pingback: Well worth a look « Corkscrew boo-hoo

  17. I doubt that I am interesting enough, but I’ll throw my card in. And before you mock my daisies, I am damn proud of them! I have a black thumb and usually kill anything that grows from a seed.

    July 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    • I don’t think there is such a thing as “not interesting enough.” Your blog is quite different from the others I’ve written about, which could make it fun to do.

      July 21, 2011 at 3:53 pm

  18. Pingback: Reflexology « The Spiral Staircase

Leave a Reply

